Eight green lights and a blue one.

Eight green lights and a blue one.

It had taken me fifty seven years to reach that alley

I wondered where it led

Maybe it led to somewhere

Maybe it was an alley to nowhere

Who knows

Maybe one day I’ll go back and find out

But for that night, fifty seven years into my life I just sat

Sat looking out of a first floor window

Out of a window onto an alley

An alley that led maybe somewhere

The window was translucent and transparent

It depended how you focused

Across the alley, eight green lights and a blue one

Transparent

In the window, my reflection, fifty seven years old

Translucent

Outside an alley going somewhere

Where was I going?

Eight green lights and a blue one

Maybe I had arrived

Eight green lights and a blue one

I gazed into my eyes in the reflection

Fifty seven year old eyes

Ten year old questions

Posed in an alley going somewhere

To the tune of eight green lights and a blue one

Leave a Reply

